Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (Z.A.A) Canada edition: Nominee list revealed

Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (Z.A.A) has announced the nominees for the inaugural Z.A.A Canada edition with the Awards Dinner Gala set to hold on Saturday, June 29th, 2019 at the Radisson Hotel, Edmonton.

With 10 award categories, the organizers unveiled 49 nominees which include artists, Ruvarashe Mutseka and Napitapi; personalities, Dr. Nothabo Ncube and Amanda Nothando Mangena; entrepreneur, Zeb Tsikira and Andrew Utah; author, Vusa Mabaleka and many more – representing a new class of Zimbabweans in the Canadian diaspora promoting shared values of creativity, social good, and innovation while making impact in their respective fields.


Young Achiever of the Year Award
Nominee will be 25 and below and will have been a beacon for leadership, community and cultural engagement. Will have participated in activities that demonstrate the excellence, cultural richness and diversity of being Zimbabwean. ZAA wishes to acknowledge, encourage and most importantly promote positive achievements of all young people.

1. Nigel Sitachi
2. Tinotenda Mungoni
3. Charmaine Mukoma
4. Bangerz
5. Ruvarashe Mutseka

Music Artist of the Year
An individual or group who have demonstrated great musicianship, quality and uniqueness of music, and performances throughout the year. They will have a huge presence and impact on their audience/listeners on multiple channels.

1. Ruvarashe Mutseka
2. Napitapi
3. Ekhaya Music
4. Kay L
5. Melissa Natasha – Rain Akai

ZAA People’s Choice Award
This category is won by the nominee with the highest count of votes, voted by the general public. Nominee will have shown enthusiasm and charisma in engaging the wider community through several channels. The Top 5 nominees are selected by picking the highest nominations.

1. Dr. Nothabo Ncube
2. Lindiwe Sithole
3. Amanda Nothando Mangena
4. Hygienic Cleaning Services
5. Lynn Kibria

ZAA Professional of the Year Award
Employed. Excelled in their field. Not an entrepreneur
The award recognizes eminent public, private and educational sector professionals who have demonstrated passion, leadership and commitment to the sector.

1. Wiri Kapurura
2. Chenai Cynthia Mufandaedza
3. David Hove
4. Phil Mutamho
5. Theresa Nyabeze

ZAA Male Entrepreneur of the Year
Awarded to a business person who can demonstrate a genuine passion for social issues and with a proven track record of operating a successful business enterprise.
The nominee will have demonstrated business excellence and acumen with a proven track record of success in business. ZAA is honoring entrepreneurs whose boldness drives them to do things differently and change our world in the most unexpected ways

1. Allen Magama- Insurance & Ekhaya Garden
2. Zeb Tsikira
3. Andrew Utah
4. Charles Dengedza
5. TK Smooth

ZAA Business of the Year Award
A business that can demonstrate a long-standing commitment of a responsible business & leadership in the marketplace, workplace, environment and the community. Business must be financially sound, active in their community.

1. Handmade with Charm
2. CargoLink
3. Proconnect
4. Lillian Cox- FlameTz Kloset
5. Busi Sells Homes

ZAA Community Champion Award
Nominee will have shown extraordinary courage and will have taken upon him or herself to campaign tirelessly and lead in the improvement of the Zimbabwean community.
ZAA honors someone who has worked tirelessly to engage, involve and consult the community; someone who has got to the grassroots of communities, made strides to understand their priorities and campaigned on issues that matter to them.

1. ManiXe $ Money Transfer
2. Irene Samambwa
3. Pastor Sheddy Mbizvo

4. Tendai Chinhengo
5. Dr. Raino Mutamba

ZAA Community Organisation of the Year Award
A charitable organisation that has worked and campaigned tirelessly to deliver a sustained positive impact to the Zimbabwean Community.

1. Forward in Faith
2. ZimMarket Classifieds
3. Angie’s Kitchenette
4. You Have It In You Foundation
5. Associations of Zimbabweans in Calgary

ZAA Female Personality of the Year Award
Influential, inspiring and in the news. From all walks of life- politicians, actors, sports stars, artists and models. Others have a lower profile but still intrigue with their determination to make their mark.

1. Sandra Chuma ‘Ndini Media’
2. Noreen Judith Sibanda
3. Colleen Tsikira
4. Shumba & Beta
5. Catherine (Kim) Chivhima

Media Personality of the Year Award
This is awarded to a prominent personality who is in the public eye and commands a following among audiences within the media space. Nominee must be trending, easily recognized and positively ignites conversation and attract media spotlight.

1. MC Bonde
2. Vusa Mabaleka
3. Amanda Nothando Mangena
4. Curtis Smith ‘Zvirikufaya

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply